Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Pi Alpha Xi Committees
Share |

Standing Committees 2016–2018

Fellows Selection Committee – solicits nominations for Fellows of the Society and is responsible for assembling support documentation for selection.

John Peterson (chair), University of Florida, drjohncp@ufl.edu

Doug Needham, Longwood Gardens, dneedham@longwoodgardens.org

Mary Lewnes Albrecht, University of Tennessee, malbrech@utk.edu

Karen Panter, University of Wyoming, ex-officio, kpanter@uwyo.edu

David Zlesak, University of Wisconsin-River Falls, david.zlesak@uwrf.edu

Stephanie Burnett (ex officio), University of Maine, sburnett@maine.edu


Membership Services Committee – coordinates the publication of the Recruitment Brochure, Flower Judging Manual, and other services and materials of the Honor Society.

Janet Cole, Oklahoma State University, janet.cole@okstate.edu

Holly Scoggins, Virginia Tech University, perennials@vt.edu

Stephanie Burnett, University of Maine, sburnett@maine.edu


Nominations Committee – develops a slate of candidates for the National Offices and presents the slate at the National Meeting in 2016.

Paul Thomas (chair), University of Georgia, pathomas@uga.edu

Tina Marie Cade, Texas State University, tc10@txstate.edu

Stephanie Burnett, University of Maine, sburnett@maine.edu


Photography Contest Committee – oversees the rules, fees, and prizes associated with the photography contest at the annual ASHS conference and PAX annual business meeting.

Paul Thomas, University of Georgia, pathomas@uga.edu

Karen Panter, University of Wyoming, ex-officio, kpanter@uwyo.edu

Steve Newman, Colorado State University, steven.newman@colostate.edu


Rules Committee – reviews the Constitution and By-Laws of the Honor Society and the Operations Manual. Revisions to the Constitution and By-Laws are presented to the membership for consideration.

Richard Harkess (chair), Mississippi State University, rharkess@pss.msstate.edu

Jim Klett, Colorado State University, jim.klett@colostate.edu

Alice LeDuc, Texas State University, aliceleduc45@gmail.com

Ryan Contreras, Oregon State University, Ryan.Contreras@oregonstate.edu


Student Activities Committee – proposes, develops, and oversees activities of the Honor Society intended to engage undergraduate and graduate students at national events.

Brian Trader, Longwood Gardens, btrader@longwoodgardens.org

John Peterson, University of Florida, drjohncp@ufl.edu


Ad Hoc Committee 2016-2018

Website Committee - oversees development and maintenance of the society’s website.

Executive Secretary, Cindy Slone, ex officio, cslone@ashs.org or Mike Neff, ex-officio, mwneff@ashs.org

Stephanie Burnett, University of Maine, sburnett@maine.edu