Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
9th North American Strawberry Symposium (NASS)
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

The 9th North American Strawberry Symposium (NASS) is a meeting of strawberry growers, researchers, and other industry members from around the globe and will be held in conjunction with the annual NASGA conference, ​Feb. 3-6, 2019 in Orlando, Florida, USA.

 Export to Your Calendar 2/3/2019 to 2/6/2019
When: Sunday, February 3, 2019
Where: Wyndham Orlando Resort
Orlando, Florida 
United States

« Go to Upcoming Event List  

All members of the international strawberry community are invited to attend the 9th North American Strawberry Symposium (NASS), a meeting of strawberry growers, researchers, and other industry members from around the globe, to be held in conjunction with the annual NASGA conference, Feb. 3-6, 2019 in Orlando, Florida, USA. Florida is the US leader in winter strawberry production and features a strong partnership between Florida strawberry producers and the University of Florida.


This partnership is reflective of the purpose of this conference, which brings together growers and scientists worldwide to spur innovation.  We will kick-off the Symposium on Superbowl Sunday (Feb 3) with workshops in the afternoon, followed by a welcome reception “In The Red Zone”. We welcome you to meet and greet strawberry friends while watching the game together on a big-screen TV, or in a quieter setting nearby. We’ll enjoy two days of research presentations, marketing presentations, poster sessions and an award luncheon, followed by a post-conference tour February 6. The tour will feature a 600-acre strawberry farm, a robotic harvester demonstration, and field research at the University of Florida Gulf Coast Research and Education Center. The Program Committee is committed to making this a world-class research symposium for growers and scientists, and we look forward to seeing you in Orlando at the peak of the strawberry season.  


The deadline for submission of presentation titles has been extended to November 1, 2018.  Please submit presentation titles (designate oral or poster) to Kim.Lewers@usda.gov.Presentations covering a wide range of topics supporting commercial strawberry are welcome. The program will highlight emerging technologies like precision agriculture, automation, and robotics. Proceedings articles from the presenters are strongly encouraged and will be published in a special issue of the International Journal of Fruit Science. 

Workshop topics (Feb 3): Automation and Precision Agriculture, Physiology and Production Management, Sustainable Organic Copping Systems, Strawberry Breeding Tools and Tips, Alternatives to Fumigation, Weed Management Approaches, Insect and Mite Management, Disease Management: From Nursery to Fruit Production Fields.

Registration: On-line registration or mail-in form, and more program details (abstract deadlines, keynote speakers, etc.) and opportunities for industry, organization and agency sponsorship on the NASGA website: http://www.nasga.org/.


Please spread the word to fellow researchers and strawberry growers.


Program committee: Kim Lewers, (Chair), Research Geneticist, USDA, Beltsville, Maryland, kim.lewers@usda.gov
Kevin Schooley, NASGA Executive Director, Kemptville, Ontario, Canada, info@nasga.org  
Pam Fisher, Fisher Berry Crop Consulting, Ontario, Canada, pam.fisher@bell.net  
Tom Heeman, Heeman’s Strawberries, Thorndale, Ontario, Canada tom.heeman@gmail.com  
Kenneth Parker, Executive Director, Florida Strawberry Growers Association, kenneth@flastrawberry.com  
Natalia Peres, Plant Pathology, University of Florida, nperes@ufl.edu  
Vance Whitaker, Strawberry Breeding, University of Florida, vwhitaker@ufl.edu  
Shinsuke Agehara, Plant Physiology, University of Florida, sagehara@ufl.edu  
Jenn Haverstock, Small Fruit Specialist, Perennia, Nova Scotia, CA jhaverstock@perennia.ca  
Amanda McWhirt, Fruit and Vegetable Extension Specialist, University of Arkansas, amcwhirt@uaex.edu
Nathan Boyd, Weed Science, University of Florida, nsboyd@ufl.edu
Justin Renkema, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, justin.renkema@canada.ca
Amr Abd-Elrahman, Geomatics, University of Florida, aamr@ufl.edu
Margherita Zavatta, Environmental Studies Department, University of California Santa Cruz, mzavatta@ucsc.edu
Alia DeLong, Family, Youth and Community Sciences, University of Florida, delonga@ufl.edu

1018 Duke Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone: 703.836.4606
Email: webmaster@ashs.org